A New Direction

2 minute read

I'm Lisa đź‘‹ Welcome to this week's edition of Stream of Consciousness!

Hey đź‘‹ 

It’s been a while!

This post is going to be short and sweet.

I’ve been thinking a lot about what I want this newsletter to be, how I want it to make you feel, and how it evolves over time so it’s something that I am proud of and want to continue working on.

Where I have landed is:

  • I want to focus more on building a conscious life and career

  • I want to move away from product manager tips and tricks for landing jobs

  • I want to feature interesting companies and products that I think are approaching things in uniquely great and creative ways

  • I’d like to explore some guest author posts from awesome humans (who sometimes might not be product managers)

Why?

In my experiences over the past few years, most of the challenges that people write to me about (and, to be transparent, most of the challenges that I have, personally) are around how to figure out how to connect 1. Feeling fulfilled and 2. “Making things work” financially and time-wise. Essentially, finding Ikigai in a world filled with hard constraints and rapidly changing circumstances.

At the same time, as part of my own Ikigai, I am constantly drawn to doing research and finding people and companies doing things differently. I do this on my own time for myself because I love it and if that can help other people, I’d like to leverage it.

I’m going to be changing the cadence and format as well - I’d rather release at a lower cadence with higher quality content that I deeply care about.

So…what does this mean for you?

If this sounds up your alley and something you would find valuable, please drop me a note and let me know! I love hearing from you and makes me feel less like a robot typing away behind a glass wall.

If you aren’t onboard, that is 100% okay and I invite you to unsubscribe. There are plenty of folks producing high-quality product management content like Lenny Rachitsky, Teresa Torres, Shreyas Doshi, and Stephanie Leue to name a few. For a full list of great people to follow, check out the first section of my guide, Stitch: The Best Resources for Product Managers.

That’s all! Hope you’re having a great weekend so far. Happy Sunday :)

Lisa

P.S. I’ve fielded quite a few requests for coaching calls lately, and while I am at capacity, I invite you to check out some other options to help support you based on the challenges you are facing:

  1. Personal Positioning for Aspiring Product Managers Course: Includes 15 video lessons, templates to help you update your portfolio, LinkedIn, and resume, and interviews with product manager recruiters who share what they look for, how they find candidates, and screening criteria).

  2. The Product Manager's Career Guide: Includes 27 .pdf modules, 13 templates, and more to help you define your career North Star.

Thanks for Reading!

Have a great week!

-Lisa ✨

Headshot of Lisa Zane against yellow background. She is wearing a black button up shirt and has long brown hair, brown eyes, and olive skin.

How Was This Edition?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

If this was helpful, you can support me by forwarding it to a friend who you think might also like it or by supporting my work through a small donation.